Meet the Summer 2012 Intern!

June 11, 2012 at 6:05 pm Leave a comment

Hello friends and fans of Fernbank!

My name is Samantha (Sam) Marks, and I will be Fernbank’s Communications and Marketing intern for the summer of 2012. I am currently a fourth-year, Public Relations major at the University of Georgia, and I will be graduating in December of 2012.

I am a history lover, and a kid at heart. Earlier this year when I was considering places to apply for a summer internship, I could not think of anywhere more perfect than Fernbank Museum of Natural History. I was lucky enough to be chosen for the position, and now here I am!

I have only been at Fernbank for three days, but already I have done many amazing things. I spent last week familiarizing myself with the museum and meeting many members of the staff (I have only walked through the wrong door twice and forgotten a few names, so I would call that a success!). I also attended a couple of meetings, wrote a press release and began doing some research for future happenings at Fernbank.

I am fortunate to be interning at Fernbank during its 20th Anniversary celebration. On Saturday night, June 9, I was able to help at the event, Lost Oasis, which is the annual fundraiser put on by Fernbank’s Artemis Guild. The theme of the night was, The “Roaring” Twenties, in honor of the Museum’s special anniversary.  Attendees were dressed in twenties-themed attire and spent the night celebrating all of the wonderful people who support the Museum.

I have learned so much in my first three days at Fernbank, and I can only hope that the rest of my time here will be as wonderful. I cannot wait to share all of my amazing experiences and adventures with all of the Fernbank lovers out there!

—Sam Marks, Communications and Marketing Intern

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

An Important Message Regarding the Future of Fernbank Museum We’ve Moved!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

At Fernbank Museum, there’s much more than dinosaurs and giant-screen films. Even with our website, e-newsletters, Facebook pages and Twitter updates, there’s still a lot we’d like to share with you. This blog is an opportunity for the people that keep Fernbank running and constantly expanding, to share stories from their point of view. We hope you’ll enjoy these first-hand, behind-the-scenes glimpses of what goes into keeping a world-class natural history museum running. As always, we’d love to hear your feedback on these stories, to hear your personal experiences and hear any suggestions for topics. Happy reading!

Photos

WildWoods

WildWoods

WildWoods

More Photos

