Interview with the Dinosaur

November 16, 2011 at 2:23 pm 3 comments

Henry and Giggy, December 2010

When our adventurous social media mascot Giggy A. Dino first started tweeting a year ago (November 17, 2010 to be exact), we weren’t sure what to expect. Would anyone want to follow a tweeting stuffed dinosaur? The overwhelming answer was yes! In fact, Giggy has made a few new friends through Twitter and through Facebook. His most memorable meeting was Henry A. at a Winter Wonderland Celebration Weekend event in December 2010. Henry was the first friend Giggy was able to meet in person. Because of that designation (and the many return visits to see Giggy and the Museum that he and his family have made), Henry recently gave Giggy is first interview. (Note: Giggy’s handler helped type the answers.)

Henry: Why are you so tiny?
Giggy: I was made that way. I don’t mind, being small has its advantages: I still qualify for a kids’ ticket price at the movies; I fit easily into a purse or backpack (hello, travel adventures); and I can sneak up on unsuspecting Stegosaurus and yell “GOTCHA” (they hate that).

Henry: What do you like to eat? Do you like chicken or are you a vegetarian?
Giggy: Like all Giganotosaurus, I like meat! Especially a good Pterodactyl burger. YUM! And pizza.

Henry: Where do you live in Fernbank? Do you have a room?
Giggy:  I live in my handler’s office. It’s full of lots of posters from past exhibits (like Geckos) and toys. I get to play as much as I want. As long as I don’t get too loud—there’s a lot of work going on!

Henry and Giggy, October 2011

Henry: Is Fernbank really AWESOME?!?!?!
Giggy: YES! There are other dinosaurs for me to chase and play with. And lots of things to learn (did you know Charles Darwin once rode a Galapagos tortoise?). And most of all, I get to meet lots of cool kids, just like you!

Henry: Do you chase squirrels in Fernbank Forest?
Giggy: Sometimes. And sometimes, they chase me.

Henry: Do you like to dance and sing?
Giggy: La la laaaaaaaa! Just kidding. As you can tell, I’m not much of a singer, but I do like to dance! I can’t wait to see the performances during Winter Wonderland. I hear the Atlanta Ballet will be here.

Henry: What’s your favorite holiday?
Giggy: Halloween. I like to dress up as a human.

Henry: My favorite dinosaur is the Triceratops. Who is your favorite human?
Giggy: Humans are delicious….DELIGHTFUL. I mean, delightful. It’d be hard to pick just one.

Henry: Do you use a computer?
Giggy: Well (stretches arms), with these short arms, it’s rather difficult. Thankfully, my handler helps me out.

If you have a question you’d like Giggy to answer, send it to marketing@fernbankmuseum.org.

—Deanna Smith, Director of Marketing (and “Giggy’s “human)

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , .

What it’s Like to Be a Museum Curator Thankful for Fernbank Museum

3 Comments Add your own

  • […] can go to Museum Musings to read the full interview, and I highly recommend it. It’s a wonderful little interview, […]

    Reply
  • 2. Jana A  |  November 17, 2011 at 11:50 am

    This is so great! Thank you for inviting Henry to interview Giggy!

    Reply
  • 3. fernbankmuseum  |  November 17, 2011 at 1:21 pm

    Thank you and Henry for being such great supporters of Giggy and Fernbank!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

At Fernbank Museum, there’s much more than dinosaurs and giant-screen films. Even with our website, e-newsletters, Facebook pages and Twitter updates, there’s still a lot we’d like to share with you. This blog is an opportunity for the people that keep Fernbank running and constantly expanding, to share stories from their point of view. We hope you’ll enjoy these first-hand, behind-the-scenes glimpses of what goes into keeping a world-class natural history museum running. As always, we’d love to hear your feedback on these stories, to hear your personal experiences and hear any suggestions for topics. Happy reading!

