My Last Post

August 30, 2011 at 8:45 am 1 comment

I am sad to say that this will be my last post for the Fernbank blog. After three months of interning, my time at the Museum is coming to a close. I began working at Fernbank to complete my degree requirements after graduating from Georgia College & State University in May. Although I am very glad to have finally received my diploma, the experience and knowledge I have gained from my internship have been just as worthwhile.

Much of my time working as an intern at Fernbank has been assisting the Marketing and Communications department. I have assisted at a lot of fun events such as Pirate & Princess Days, Superhero Day and Wizards & Wands Weekend.

I have helped update the social media sites such as this blog, our Facebook page, our Twitter feed and our Flickr account.

Although some days I was doing typical intern duties such as making copies or running errands, I feel very privileged about the change to assist an important department. I learned a lot about museums and how they are run and gained a new passion and interest in them.

Some of my favorite moments have been at the events—it is so much fun and so rewarding to watch children and their families enjoy and get excited about the things we have going on here at the Museum.

I’m glad to know my work has been worthwhile and that I have been able to put my degree in Mass Communication to good use! Although I am sad to say “goodbye” to Fernbank, I am excited about what is ahead! I am currently working a part-time job as I get ready to start a seasonal position and continue my search for an opportunity to engage my passion for nonprofit organizations and international humanitarian projects!

-Amanda Boddy, Marketing & Communications Intern (Summer 2011)

Editor’s Note: If you are interested in learning more about Fernbank’s internship program, visit us online.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , .

A Decade of Delight Not Your Average Opportunity

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Dwayne Neal  |  September 4, 2011 at 9:17 pm

    Congrats, Amanda…wishing you all the best that life has to offer. Don’t be a stranger, you can always visit the museum. Take care! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

At Fernbank Museum, there’s much more than dinosaurs and giant-screen films. Even with our website, e-newsletters, Facebook pages and Twitter updates, there’s still a lot we’d like to share with you. This blog is an opportunity for the people that keep Fernbank running and constantly expanding, to share stories from their point of view. We hope you’ll enjoy these first-hand, behind-the-scenes glimpses of what goes into keeping a world-class natural history museum running. As always, we’d love to hear your feedback on these stories, to hear your personal experiences and hear any suggestions for topics. Happy reading!

