meet Amanda, the new intern!

May 18, 2011 at 4:31 pm 1 comment

Hello faithful blog readers!

My name is Amanda and I am the new marketing and communications  intern at Fernbank! I am a fresh graduate of Georgia College & State University in Milledgeville, Ga. where I earned a Bachelor’s of Arts in Mass Communication and a minor in Sociology. To round out my degree, I am spending the next few months in what I already consider one of my favorite summer jobs.

I spent the past three summers chasing kids around camps in North Georgia and Florida and this summer I get to watch kids chase each other around the Museum! I have only been here about a week where I have updated the Facebook page, assisted in events, run plenty of intern-like errands and bragged to my friends about all the fun I’m having. I can’t wait to continue working on the Museum’s social media presence, assist in planning and executing events, watch kids “ooh” and “ahh” at the giant dinosaurs in the Great Hall and spend the summer learning.

I have to give a shoutout to my friend and fellow GCSU alum Andrea Lowery. Those of you who keep up with the blog know that Andrea was the marketing and communications intern last summer. Andrea encouraged me to pursue this internship, answered all my silly questions and left some big shoes here for me to fill.

Anyway, this is my first of many blog posts for Fernbank! I get to write about events and staff members and let you all in on the in-and-outs of the Museum. I can’t wait to share with you all that I am learning and experiencing!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Fernbank NatureQuest… It’s the best! In the Know: Mythic Mambo

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Katelyn  |  May 18, 2011 at 5:33 pm

    Great first blog post, I can’t wait to hear more of your experiences Mandy!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

At Fernbank Museum, there’s much more than dinosaurs and giant-screen films. Even with our website, e-newsletters, Facebook pages and Twitter updates, there’s still a lot we’d like to share with you. This blog is an opportunity for the people that keep Fernbank running and constantly expanding, to share stories from their point of view. We hope you’ll enjoy these first-hand, behind-the-scenes glimpses of what goes into keeping a world-class natural history museum running. As always, we’d love to hear your feedback on these stories, to hear your personal experiences and hear any suggestions for topics. Happy reading!

