Fernbank NatureQuest… It’s the best!

May 5, 2011 at 1:33 pm Leave a comment

What will YOU discover?

Here’s a riddle for you: Where can you swim under the ocean, paddle a dugout canoe, walk through the treetops and go search for fossils in a cave? Do you give up yet? You can do all of these things in Fernbank’s new children’s exhibition Fernbank NatureQuest. And I am fortunate enough to get to do ALL of these things (and more) all day!

My name is Tanya and I’m one of the exhibition facilitators for Fernbank NatureQuest and my job ROCKS! My To-Do list literally includes: searching for turtles in swampy hideouts, swimming with sea turtles, finding pottery sherds and climbing trees!

Every day at work is a new adventure! Sometimes I find some really cool little explorers who help me identify rabbit tracks and some days I find some little scientists who help me check out strange insects under microscopes. I never know what’s going to happen next. There are so many hidden secrets in this room that even I don’t know them all. The other day I was wandering around in the estuary and saw a crab hidden in the cord grass. It took me almost a month to find him!

I think my favorite part about working in Fernbank NatureQuest is meeting future biologists, archaeologists and paleontologists. I have a great time introducing these new explorers to the exhibition and showing them our hidden gems. (Some of these hidden gems may actually BE real gems!) I love seeing their imaginations run wild and playing a part in their awesome adventures. It makes me so happy when kids tell me about how much fun they had in Fernbank NatureQuest. I’ve even had a few kids ask if they could live there!

So if you happen to have a little one eager to explore the outdoors, send ‘em my way and we will set out on our own Nature Quest expedition! See ya around the clubhouse!

—Tanya Wise

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Ready for the Show meet Amanda, the new intern!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

At Fernbank Museum, there’s much more than dinosaurs and giant-screen films. Even with our website, e-newsletters, Facebook pages and Twitter updates, there’s still a lot we’d like to share with you. This blog is an opportunity for the people that keep Fernbank running and constantly expanding, to share stories from their point of view. We hope you’ll enjoy these first-hand, behind-the-scenes glimpses of what goes into keeping a world-class natural history museum running. As always, we’d love to hear your feedback on these stories, to hear your personal experiences and hear any suggestions for topics. Happy reading!

Photos

WildWoods

WildWoods

WildWoods

More Photos

