What a week

May 24, 2010 at 7:59 pm Leave a comment

This morning I hung out with geckos—real, live geckos. Deanna, my internship supervisor, asked me to accompany her while she took photos of the new gecko exhibit for Facebook. Geckos are incredibly cool (you have to come see them this summer). I saw geckos that looked like leaves, bright green geckos, orange scaly geckos, geckos that clung to the wall with their sticky toe pads—and those were just my favorites! Before that, we rummaged the gift shop for event prizes, and now I am sitting at my desk preparing to type a press release about Roar: Lions of the Kalahari, a riveting IMAX film that is coming to Fernbank in July. This is a fairly typical day as the marketing and communications intern at Fernbank.

My last semester at college was spent discussing internships. Who was working where this summer? Would it be a good learning experience, and I was repeatedly told that Fernbank Museum was among the best internship positions. After my first week as an intern at Fernbank, I know they were right. I am already learning new skills and polishing old ones.

Starting an internship, my biggest fear was the mundane. I could not imagine sitting at a desk all day typing press releases, answering phone calls, and making copies. I quickly learned that those tasks at Fernbank are anything but boring. I have a dinosaur sticker on my computer, a picture of stampeding elephants on my desk, and I write copy about lions, geckos, and bugs! The phone calls I make are directly related to big projects I am helping create. I am included in meetings with graphic designers and get the inside scoop on upcoming events. I am assigned many projects that require the skills I have been taught in the classroom at school, and they are all fun topics that I thoroughly enjoy working on.

In addition to fun projects, the staff is outstanding, friendly, and helpful. Everyone I work with at Fernbank is thrilled to be working at such an awesome museum, and their enthusiasm is quite contagious. I have been encouraged to explore each and every exhibit in the Museum, which has sparked my own excitement.

In only one week, I have fallen in love with Fernbank Museum. I want to tell everyone about this cool place that I have discovered, and when I come to work, I get the chance to do that through marketing and communications. I look forward to seeing you this summer at Fernbank Museum. If you see me around, please come and tell me your favorite thing about Fernbank.

-Andrea Lowery, Marketing & Communications Intern

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Going to the Worms (in a good way) The Geckos are Coming!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

At Fernbank Museum, there’s much more than dinosaurs and giant-screen films. Even with our website, e-newsletters, Facebook pages and Twitter updates, there’s still a lot we’d like to share with you. This blog is an opportunity for the people that keep Fernbank running and constantly expanding, to share stories from their point of view. We hope you’ll enjoy these first-hand, behind-the-scenes glimpses of what goes into keeping a world-class natural history museum running. As always, we’d love to hear your feedback on these stories, to hear your personal experiences and hear any suggestions for topics. Happy reading!

