A Day in the Life…

August 21, 2009 at 1:37 pm Leave a comment

A look into a typical day of one of Fernbank’s Diamondback Terrapins 

#1 reflection

9:00am: Blink couple times as the lights come on. Emerge from the water to bask and create my morning vitamin D.

9:30am: Seek shelter under a water-logged branch as animal care staff open the door and turn on the room lights.

10:00am: Sneak a peek at whatever the animal care staff are doing

10:30am: Swim a bit, bask a bit, beg for food every time a person walks by

11:00am: Enjoy the airborne transfer from my tank to my feeding bowl. Eat as much as I can (smelt and other seafoods are my favorites)! Wait for transfer back to my tank.

12:00pm: Enjoy the airborne transfer back to my tank. Seek warmth to bask and digest! Swim a bit, bask a bit, check out the filter and try to catch the water it’s throwing. Push rocks around and move as many things in my tank as possible!

3:00pm: Entertain museum guests at an animal encounter with my excellent swimming motion and interesting facts! Did you know I’m the only kind of turtle native to brackish water in North America!?! There are sea turtles and freshwater turtles, but only my kind (and our subspecies) can transition easily from freshwater to saltwater and vice versa! Check out our daily activities during your next visit and I may see you at the animal encounter!

4:00pm: Return to my tank for the afternoon. Entertain myself with swimming, hiding, basking, pushing things and hoping maybe there’s food hidden in the gravel! Perhaps an afternoon snack or another water toy is waiting for me!

6:00pm: Room lights go out. Good bye animal care staff!

7:00pm: All lights out! Good night! I’ll be in the water if you need me!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

How I Spent My Summer Work-cation Anticipation

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

At Fernbank Museum, there’s much more than dinosaurs and giant-screen films. Even with our website, e-newsletters, Facebook pages and Twitter updates, there’s still a lot we’d like to share with you. This blog is an opportunity for the people that keep Fernbank running and constantly expanding, to share stories from their point of view. We hope you’ll enjoy these first-hand, behind-the-scenes glimpses of what goes into keeping a world-class natural history museum running. As always, we’d love to hear your feedback on these stories, to hear your personal experiences and hear any suggestions for topics. Happy reading!

Photos

WildWoods

WildWoods

WildWoods

More Photos

