Volunteering, it really does make a difference!

July 22, 2009 at 7:02 pm Leave a comment

© FMNH
© FMNH

Hilda Hawk, a volunteer of over 10 years welcomed me this morning, as she does every Wednesday, with her fantastic smile and an inquiry into the life of my 1 year old, I tell her she is fine and that I expect my little one will walk any day now. After chatting with Hilda on my morning rounds, I looked around and noticed how busy things were and that there were volunteers everywhere, doing exactly what they should be doing, having fun and helping out! Some of the youth volunteers were teaching other kids about the fossils in our limestone floors, our IMAX® crew was taking tickets for the movie and letting guests know that the best seats are in the middle, toward the back of the theater and I noticed one of our Greeters was snapping a photo of a family at the Giants of the Mesozoic overlook. It was at this moment that I remembered how exciting the Museum is, how much I deeply care for everything that goes on here at Fernbank and how much I love working with volunteers!

Many of the volunteers have been with the Museum from its inception and many have joined the ranks only in the past year. All of them inspire me. They have given me a deeper appreciation and understanding of volunteer work and how valuable it can be to an institution. I have volunteers that come from all walks of life, the young and the old, folks that have had long and dubious careers, people who have recently had their careers stopped short due to our current economic crisis and folks that are just starting out. The fascinating part is that no matter where they came from or what their intentions are…as a volunteer, they are united it the same goals: a passion for people, for giving and for Fernbank.

I learn so much from the volunteers. The most important lesson they have taught me is how necessary it is to give your personal time to a cause you believe in. It is certainly their attitude and commitment to Fernbank that enrich our guests experience and without them we would truly be at a loss! Their friendly faces and helpful demeanor make a difference to each and every visitor that comes through the doors. We have been so busy lately that I feel like I have been taking them for granted and haven’t thanked them enough for all of their hard work and dedication and for that, I apologize. Thank you Fernbank Volunteers, we couldn’t survive without you!

Michele Kresge, Manager of Member and Volunteer Services

Editors Note: Contact us at volunteer@fernbankmuseum.org if you’d like to receive information about volunteering your time at Fernbank Museum.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

My First Summer Camp A Prince of A Guy (Gecko)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

At Fernbank Museum, there’s much more than dinosaurs and giant-screen films. Even with our website, e-newsletters, Facebook pages and Twitter updates, there’s still a lot we’d like to share with you. This blog is an opportunity for the people that keep Fernbank running and constantly expanding, to share stories from their point of view. We hope you’ll enjoy these first-hand, behind-the-scenes glimpses of what goes into keeping a world-class natural history museum running. As always, we’d love to hear your feedback on these stories, to hear your personal experiences and hear any suggestions for topics. Happy reading!

